Wood-Ridge Historical Society
The Wood-Ridge Historical Society was formed to preserve the rich history of the Borough of Wood-Ridge, New Jersey.
The society realizes the value of the past and its importance to future generations.
The Wood-Ridge Historical Society headquarters is currently located at the Bianchi House at 111 First Street.
The Wood-Ridge Historical Society conducts its meetings on the second Wednesday of each month at 7:30 p.m. Meetings are open to the public. Bring a friend!
Wood-Ridge Historical Society Committee
Catherine Cassidy, Council Liaison
Carl Dittman, President & Historian
Pat Sloan, Vice-President
Dorothy Dobek, Secretary
History of Wood-Ridge, New Jersey
This abbreviated history of Wood-Ridge is quoted by permission from the book "Images of America Wood-Ridge", Copyright (c) 2004 by Patricia Helbig Sloan and Catherine Cassidy for the Wood-Ridge Historical Society.
"In 1669, lord proprietors Sir George Carteret and Lord John Berkeley awarded a land grant to Capt. John Berry. The territory extended approximately from Hackensack to Newark between the Hackensack, Passaic, and Saddle Rivers. At the time, the Lenni Lenape Indians inhabited the area. The tract was gradually divided into farms, and by the early 1700s, the area that is now Wood-Ridge began to appear in county records. An old Indian trail extending from the northern part of Bergen County to points south was laid out by Berry as a roadway c. 1707. Named Polifly Road, it is now known in Wood-Ridge as Hackensack Street."
If you would like to purchase a copy of "Images of America Wood-Ridge" and/or would like to join our mailing list for the Wood-Ridge Historical Society, please email Councilwoman Catherine Cassidy at email@example.com.